Designing my Happiness Manifesto

As we continue with on our conversation about coming into my authencity…it made me question, “First, what makes YOU happy?”. To answer this I often, as a new year was ushered in, would resolve to do a Vision Board…well, it never quite works out that way. But I truly believe in visualizing your dreams and putting them out so that they can come into fruition. However, after receiving and reading the Happiness Project newsletter (Gretchen Rubin), I began to think that designing my very own Happiness/Life Manifesto could help me answer the question of happiness. Firstly, a manifesto is defined as a written statement declaring publicly the intentions, motives, or views of its issuer. Therefore, I will declare those things that I deem to make me happy and true to me.

In beginning this exercise, I found many examples of manifestos, one famous one was the Holstee Manifesto (Click here to check it out! Great inspiration http://shop.holstee.com/pages/about). Many of the statements rang true to me, but still not in my own words. So I found a fill in the blank template (below) that I thought would give me a great start. After completing them, I will decide on five to include in my Happiness/Life Manifesto. I, also years ago. received a metal  bookmark of sorts that included 5 items that I try to remember and apply on a daily basis. They are a must for my manifesto. The plan is for the manifesto to be a birthing place for my vision board(s) to come! Join me in designing your own life manifesto! Use the template as a springboard as well.

Ideas from the bookmark: Free your heart from hatred; Free your mind from worries; live simply; Give more; Expect less.

I am __a  strong, loving, intelligent Black woman  .____

I believe __in _life and God._____________________________________

I love _love; especially of my family and friends.________________________

What I know for sure is _life is full of possibilities…we just have to find ours and live them out fully. _

I’ve never been  more happy than when __I feel fully accepted, appreciated, understood, and loved, and doing things that make me smile._______________

I wish all of us could __just be honest, loving, and understanding of everyone.____

I dream of _a happy, full, successful life with all of those that I love.____________

People tell me I am __kind, smart, and helpful._____________________________

I was born to __write, love, and give all that I can within reason.________________

What I want most in the world is to _feel the complete love and happiness of God.___

The words I hold closest to my heart is _Live, Laughter, and Love._______________

I live for _ happiness, laughter, and love /finding pure relaxation._____

I believe the most important thing  in a person is to be _honest and love self and others._________

The big idea of my life is _helping others.____________________________________________

I am dedicated to learning how to hear God’s voice, so I can have better direction in my marriage, career, and life in general.

Happiness is _laughter, the color orange-red, finding small blessings in everything! ______

I feel most alive when _I am loved, relaxed, laughing, and feel empowered._____

Share your ideas for a Life Manifesto!

Peace, Love, Life, Faith

Leave a Reply

