ChicChat4

Happy Sunday!!

It has been a great, but busy week over this way! And as I sat here thinking of what I needed to do to prepare for the week ahead, realized that I haven’t let y’all in on everything that has been going on.

I guess first thing is that the hair journey is continuing…and I am happy so far with the progress! I’ve also found a blog (www.justgrowalready.com)  that is devoted to the growth of healthy, relaxed hair and I’ve picked up a couple of tips! Including the use of grapeseed oil (which I’ve ordered) and the use of Organix Coconut Milk Serum (to help prevent breakage and I’ve already been using their Morrocan Argan Light Oil-love how it makes my hair feel). I can’t wait to see how these products do with my others in my regimen. So wondering how things are looking? Check it out…

Neck Length

It’s getting there!

 

As you all know, my initial goal was to get to the length of hair like First Lady Obama’s….but now I’ve been inspired to grow a little longer…we will see! But I’m definitely on track for it to reach my shoulders by October 1st (yay..wedding anniversary!).

Speaking of the First Lady…the Hubbs and I enjoyed our time at the Democratic National Convention! No…we didn’t make it to Charlotte, but each night we tuned in to the events. The highlights of course were the speeches of  First Lady’s, Deval Patrick, Bill Clinton, Joe Biden, and the President. The love that the First Lady displayed for her husband and father of her children was inspiring and the pride she showed for him as President of the United States was remarkable! I strive for that kind of connection in my marriage daily! So happy to have a role model of that beyond our families and for the whole world to see! I’m normally not a huge political type person, but I do believe that more needs to be done to improve the conditions of our economy and the substance of our lives. You may have your view, but for me…..

Four more years…four more years!

 

Since my birthday (and Random Acts of Kindness Day in Georgia), I have continued to share my kindness to random people on a weekly basis. And when I tell you that it does the Spirit good…wow! I thank God that I can do even the smallest thing to be able to help someone else who is not expecting it! This past week, I not only let an older woman get ahead of me to purchase her one item at the grocery store, but I purchased it for her….it was aspirin for her husband who is now not able to work anymore due to his health. She said that he wouldn’t think of getting it and taking them, but she and I understood the difference it could possibly make. Besides, that was something that I do for the Hubbs often (I have to help keep him healthy too.). So when the Spirit said for me to buy it for her…I listened and it made my day to see her surprised and grateful! The kindness will continue!

My online class is going well, in fact I have to begin preparing for mid-terms! So I’m glad that we had bookclub on yesterday for I need to focus on reading my class book instead. However, our book club selection this time was a good read! “Sister of My Heart” by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni. It transported us to Calcutta, India and into the world of arranged marriages and its impact on the entire family. For a long time I’ve been in awe and wonder of the Indian culture (Monsoon Wedding is one of my absolute fav movies) and I’ve always wanted to attend an Indian wedding. But the arranged marriage concept has been interesting as well. I definitely recommend reading it!  To help celebrate our “trip to India”, I purchased bindis for me and the girls…they loved them! According to Wikipedia, traditionally, the area between the eyebrows (where the bindi is placed) is said to be the sixth chakraajna, the seat of “concealed wisdom”. According to followers of Hinduism, this chakra is the exit point for kundalini energy. The bindi is said to retain energy and strengthen concentration.[1] It is also said to protect against demons or bad luck. The bindi also represents the third eye.[2]

Think that I will wear mine often this week so I can concentrate on my books for my exam! Smile.

Last but not least….something weighing heavy on my mind…

With my students, whenever they are having friendship issues, I tell them to do some reflecting and ask themselves  “Are you being the friend that you want to be and the type of friend that you want others to be to you?”. Well…I’m going to have to do that exercise. This week, I’ve had ultra-sensitive feelings in regards to my friends. I don’t know why (I’m a chic after all…emotional and everythang!), so I’m trying to sit back and be reflective and ask myself that question and then make the necessary changes! I value my sista-friendships very much and want to do better with them. So I must reach out more, be there for them more, and let them know how I love them so! Have you ever had “trouble” or needed to improve on a friendship? How and what did you do???

Until next time….love life…

Loving Life….

 

Peace,Life,Love,Faith

 

Leave a Reply

